Honoring those who serve(d)

I am the proud granddaughter of two veterans, both of whom served with the U.S. Marine Corps.  (Semper Fi!) One of my grandpas  has completed his years of service here on earth, although his larger-than-life personality lives on through my dad’s stories and my memories.  Whenever I thank my other grandpa for his service to our country, without fail, he always replies, “I was honored to serve.”  It humbles me every time I hear him say it.

“Honored to serve.”  Honored to serve under conditions that I cannot begin to imagine or understand.  Honored to bear the physical, emotional and mental scars of battle.  Honored to voluntarily put his life on the line for people he didn’t even know.  Honored to carry on the memory of his fallen comrades and brothers.  Honored to wear the uniform of the USMC.  Honored to sacrifice time with his family on tours of duty overseas.  Honored to serve under the Stars & Stripes.  Honored to fight for freedom, for us.  Is that not humbling?

We can never repay the debt of gratitude we owe to every single veteran.  But we can thank them, we can honor them, and show our gratitude on this day, and every day.

I am honored–honored to be protected and defended, in the past and in the present, by the men and women of the U.S. Military.

Thank you, veterans.

Leave a Reply

